Phrases with get

Phrases with get

a. Complete the sentences with the expressions in the list.

  1. I get the impression you’re a bit annoyed with me.
  2. You’ll get a shock when you see him. He looks awful.
  3. Since we stopped working together, we hardly ever get the change to see each other.
  4. Everyone else laughed, but I didn’t get the joke.
  5. When you get to know him, I think you’ll really like him.
  6. I need to speak to Martina urgently, but I just can’t get hold of her.
  7. I want to get rid of that awful painting, but I can’t because it was a wedding present from my mother-in-law.
  8. I’m going to get my own back on my brother for telling my parents I got home late. Now I won’t lend him my bike.
  9. He’s going to get in trouble with his wife if he’s late again.
  10. I tried to walk past him, but he wouldn’t get out of the way.

    b. Match sentences.
  1. There’s no way you can afford that car! Get real!
  2. You’re 40 and you’re still living with your parents! Get a life!
  3. It’s just too difficult for me. I’m not getting anywhere with the crossword.
  4. Everything about her irritates me, her voice, her smile — everything! She really gets on my nerves.
  5. Her exam is in two weeks and she hasn’t even started studying. She really needs to get her act together.
  6. They have exactly the same tastes and interests. They get on like a house on fire.
  7. If you don’t leave soon, you’ll miss the train. You should get a move on.
  8. Your grandfather must be getting on a bit. Is he in his eighties now?
  9. My boyfriend just never gets the message. I keep dropping hints about us getting engaged, but he takes no notice.
  10. She always gets her own way. He just does whatever she tells him to.

c. Match the bold phrasal verbs.

  1. How often do you get together with your extended family? Meet socially (J)
  2. How long do you think it usually takes people to get over a break-up? Recover from (A)
  3. How do you react if somebody interrupts you when you’re trying to get on with some work? Continue doing (K)
  4. Do you have any friends who you find it difficult to get through to in spite of trying to talk to them honestly? Make somebody understand (D)
  5. What are the best subjects to study in your country if you want to get into politics? Start a career or profession. (B)
  6. What’s the best way to get around your city, on foot or by public transport? Move from place to place (C)
  7. Have you ever cheated in an exam but got away with it? Do something wrong without getting caught (L)
  8. What’s the minimum amount of money you would need to get by if you were living alone in your town? Manage with what you have (E)
  9. If you get a bit behind with your work or studies during the week, do you make up for it at the weekend? Fail to make enough progress (F)
  10. Does bad weather ever get you down? Depress you (G)
  11. In your family, who is best at getting out of doing their share of the housework? Avoid responsibility or obligation (I)
  12. If you leave people a message, does it annoy you if they don’t get back to you immediately? Respond to somebody by speaking or writing (H)

Оставьте комментарий