Clauses of contrast and purpose

Clauses of contrast and purpose

a. Complete the sentences with one word.

  1. We enjoyed our holiday despite the weather.
  2. Carl doesn’t like spending money even though he’s very rich.
  3. They went to the airport to catch a plane.
  4. Sandy made a note of his number so as not to forget it.
  5. My mother called the doctor’s in order to make an appointment.
  6. Guy passed the exam in spite of the fact that he hadn’t studied much.
  7. Angela took a jacket so that she wouldn’t get cold.
  8. Though the service was poor, the meal was delicious.
  9. I went home for a shower before I went out.
  10. Despite being late, he stopped for a coffee.

b. Rewrite the sentences.

  1. We took a taxi so as not to arrive late.
    We took a taxi so that we wouldn’t arrive late.
  2. Despite earning a fortune, she drives a very old car.
    Although she earns a fortune, she drives a very old car.
  3. Everyone saw the film even though the reviews were terrible.
    Everyone saw the film in spite of the terrible reviews.
  4. The plane managed to land despite the very thick fog.
    The plane managed to land even though there was a very thick fog.
  5. I told her I liked her jacket so that I wouldn’t offend her.
    I told her I liked her jacket so as not to offend her.
  6. The manager called a meeting so as to explain the new policy.
    The manager called a meeting in order to explain the new policy.

Оставьте комментарий