English assignment 3.10.2022

English assignment 3.10.2022

a. Rewrite the bold sentence must/might/can’t + have + verb.

  1. I’m sure Ben has read my email. I sent it yesterday.
    Ben must have read my email. I sent it yesterday.
  2. Holly’s crying. Perhaps she’s had an argument with her boyfriend.
    Holly’s crying. She might have had an argument with her boyfriend.
  3. I’m sure Sam and Ginny haven’t got lost. They had a map.
    Sam and Ginny can’t have got lost. They had a map.
  4. You saw Ellie yesterday? That’s impossible. She was in bed with flu.
    You can’t have seen Ellie yesterday. That’s impossible. She was in bed with flu.
  5. Perhaps John didn’t hear you. You know he’s a bit deaf.
    John might have not heard you. You know he’s a bit deaf.
  6. I’m sure Lucy has bought a new car. I saw her driving a Mercedes!
    Lucy must have bought het a new car. I saw her driving a Mercedes!
  7. I’m sure Alex wasn’t very ill. He was only off for one day.
    Alex can’t have been very ill. He was only off for one day.
  8. They didn’t come to our party. Maybe they didn’t receive the invitation.
    They didn’t come to our party. They might have not received the invitation.

b. Respond to the first sentence using should/ shouldn’t have + a verb in the list.

  1. We couldn’t understand anybody in Paris.
    You should have learned some French before you went.
  2. Tom told me his phone number but I’ve forgotten it.
    You should have saved it on your mobile phone.
  3. Rob was late because there was so much traffic.
    He shouldn’t have gone by car. The train is much faster.
  4. Amanda was rude to everyone at my party.
    You shouldn’t have invited her. She’s always like that.
  5. I haven’t got any money left after going shopping yesterday.
    You shouldn’t have bought so many shoes. Did you need three pairs?
  6. You look really tired.
    I know. I should have gone to bed earlier.

Оставьте комментарий